There were 14 OPTICON partners in the FP5 Contract:

  • PPARC Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council (UK; coordinator) (Rowena Sirey)
  • IoA Cambridge-Institute of Astronomy (coordinator contact) (Gerry Gilmore, Douglas Gough)
  • CDS-Centre de Données astronomiques de Strasbourg (Strasbourg, France)(Francoise Genova, Daniel Egret)
  • ESA Space Sciences Division -European Space Agency(including ST-ECF) (Piero Benvenuti)
  • ESO-European Southern Observatory (Guy Monnet)
  • IAParis-Institut d'Astrophysique de Paris (Bernard Fort)
  • CNRS/INSU (France)-Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique/Institut National des sciences de l'Univers (Anne-Marie Lagrange, A. Omont, Roland Bacon)
  • Instituto de Astrofisica de Canarias (Rafael Rebolo, Francisco Sanchez)
  • Instituto Nazionale di Astrofisica (National Institute for Astrophysics) (INAF) (Piero Benvenuti, Giampaolo Vettolani)
  • Leiden University (George Miley, Harm Habing)
  • MPfA (Garching)-Max-Planck Institut für Astrophysik (Simon White)
  • MPiA (Heidelberg)-Max-Planck Institute for Astronomy (Hans-Walter Rix, Roland Gredel)
  • NOVA Nederlandse Onderzoekschool Voor Astronomie, (Graduate School for Astronomy in the Netherlands), (Tim deZeeuw, W. Boland)
  • Nordic Optical Telescope Scientific Association (Leo Takalo, Johannes Andersen)
  • Several 'associated partners' were added since the contract was signed. These include

  • Office of Science, Technology and Culture, Belgium (Jean-Pierre Swings)
  • Greek National Committee for Astronomy (GNCA) (John Seiradakis)
  • Council of German Observatories (RDS) (represented by the Astronomical Institute of the Ruhr-University Bochum (AIRUB) Ralf-Juergen Dettmar, Rolf Chini)
  • Several organisations have observer status within OPTICON. One of these is the European Astronomical Society. (Birgitta Nordstrom)

    Return to OPTICON home page.

    John Davies
    Last modified: 12 Augsut 2003